Helping China meet its global energy demand

Exxon Mobil Corporation and Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. (MOL) have announced that they have selected Hudong-Zhonghua Shipbuilding (Group) Co., Ltd. (Hudong), a subsidiary of China State Shipbuilding Corporation, to build four LNG carriers in China.  These carriers will provide LNG transportation from the Papua New Guinea (PNG) and Gorgon Jansz LNG projects and will be jointly owned by MOL and China Shipping (Group) Company (CS).

Article

Helping China meet its global energy demand

A ceremony was recently held in Beijing to celebrate the execution of a Project Development Agreement and a Heads of Agreement for Shipbuilding Contracts in the presence of Zhang Guobao, vice chairman, National Development and Reform Commission, and minister, National Energy Administration; Mark Albers, senior vice president, Exxon Mobil Corporation; Neil Duffin, president, ExxonMobil Development Company; Akimitsu Ashida, chairman, Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd.; Zhang Guofa, vice president, China Shipping (Group) Company; Tan Zuojun, president, China State Shipbuilding Corporation and Wang Yong, president, Hudong Zhonghua Shipbuilding (Group) Co., Ltd.

“This project will provide a reliable source of clean energy to help China meet its growing energy demand. We are committed to working with our partners and Hudong to deliver high quality, reliable and cost effective LNG carriers for our LNG projects that will be competitive on a global scale,” said Mark Albers, senior vice president Exxon Mobil Corporation.

“MOL is pleased to be engaged in this China LNG shipping project, working with ExxonMobil, Hudong and CS for the construction of four new quality LNG ships. This is the first time for MOL to secure LNG ships in China, and we believe that with concerted efforts by all the parties concerned, the objective of this project will be accomplished in a professional manner,” said Mr. Akimitsu Ashida, chairman, Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd.

We’re pleased to be selected by ExxonMobil and MOL as a partner in the China LNG shipping project. We’ll work diligently to design, build and deliver four high quality LNG carriers.
Mr. Tan Zuojun

president, China State Shipbuilding Corporation

In 2009, an ExxonMobil affiliate and its co-venturers in the PNG LNG project entered into a sales and purchase agreement with Sinopec for the long-term supply of LNG totaling approximately 2.0 million tonnes per annum. Also in the same year, an affiliate of ExxonMobil and PetroChina signed a sales and purchase agreement for the long-term supply of approximately 2.25 million tonnes per annum of LNG from ExxonMobil’s equity share of the Gorgon Jansz LNG project in Western Australia.

The four LNG carriers are expected to be delivered in the 2015-2016 period.

Related content

XTO

In 2010, ExxonMobil acquired XTO Energy and became the leading producer of natural gas in the U.S.

Natural gas Article

PNG LNG Project Opens Major Training Facility in Papua New Guinea

Esso Highlands Limited, a subsidiary of Exxon Mobil Corporation and operator of the PNG LNG Project, recently opened its Port Moresby Construction Training Facility.

Natural gas Article

Fueling the future: cleaner-burning liquefied natural gas demand forecasted to triple by 2040

ExxonMobil has operated in the liquefied natural gas marketplace for over 40 years. With our global partners, we continue to drive research and development to make liquefied natural gas available around the world.

Natural gas Article

A broad portfolio of global liquefied natural gas operations continues to grow

ExxonMobil has led the industry in liquefied natural gas (LNG) integration and technology development. As our ventures in Qatar and Papua New Guinea progress, we can meet growing demands more easily.

Natural gas Article

Plans to expand the Golden Pass terminal could generate up to 45,000 jobs nationwide

A proposed project, the Golden Pass LNG terminal in Sabine Pass, Texas would allow for both import and export of natural gas while generating billions of dollars of economic growth.

Natural gas Article

Содействие в удовлетворении энергетического спроса Китая

Exxon Mobil Corporation и компания «Митцуи» (Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. (MOL) объявили о своем выборе «Худун-Чжунхуа Лтд.» (Hudong-Zhonghua Shipbuilding (Group) Co., Ltd.), дочерней компании Китайской государственной судостроительной корпорации, для строительства четырех танкеров СПГ в Китае. Эти суда будут находиться в совместной собственности компании MОЛ и Китайской судостроительной корпорации и эксплуатироваться для доставки СПГ с проектов в Папуа-Новой Гвинее и «Гордон Джанш».

Статья

Содействие в удовлетворении энергетического спроса Китая

Недавно в Пекине состоялась церемония подписания Проектного соглашения и Соглашения о принципах судостроительных контрактов. На этой церемонии присутствовал Чжан Гобао, Заместитель председателя Национальной комиссии по развитию и реформам и министр Национальной энергетической администрации; Марк Альберс, Старший вице-президент Exxon Mobil Corporation; Нил Даффин, Президент компании ExxonMobil по разработке, Акимицу Ашида, Председатель компании «Митцуи» (Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd.); Чжан Гуофа, Вице-президент Китайской транспортной компании (China Shipping (Group) Company); Тан Цзугай. президент Китайской государственной судостроительной корпорации, и Ван Ян, Президент Судостроительной компании (Группы) «Худун-Чжунхуа Лтд.».

«Реализация этого проекта обеспечит надежный источник экологически чистой энергии, что будет способствовать удовлетворению растущего энергетического спроса Китая. Мы твердо намерены вместе с нашими партнерами и группой «Худун» построить качественные, надежные и экономичные суда для перевозки СПГ наших проектов, которые будут конкурентоспособными на мировом уровне»,– сказал Марк Альберс, Старший вице-президент Exxon Mobil Corporation.

«Компания МОЛ гордится своим участием в этом проекте и сотрудничеством с компаниями ExxonMobil, «Худун»  и Китайской транспортной компанией по строительству четырех новых качественных судов для перевозки СПГ. Компания МОЛ впервые строит суда СПГ для Китая и мы верим, что благодаря согласованным усилиям всех заинтересованных сторон задача этого проекта будет выполнена на высоком профессиональном уровне»,– сказал господин Акимицу Ашида, председатель компании «Митцуи» (Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd.)

Компания МОЛ гордится сотрудничеством

В 2009 г. филиал ExxonMobil и его партнеры по совместному проекту СПГ в Папуа-Новой Гвинее заключили договор с компанией «Синопек» на долгосрочные поставки СПГ общим объемом около 2,0 млн. тонн в год. Кроме того, в том же году филиал ExxonMobil подписал с компанией «Петрочайна» долгосрочный договор на поставки СПГ объемом около 2,25 млн. тонн в год из своей доли в проекте «Гордон СПГ» в западной Австралии.

Планы предусматривают строительство четырех танкеров для перевозки СПГ 2015 - 2016 гг.

Другие материалы по теме

Топливо будущего: согласно прогнозам, к 2040 году спрос на экологически чистый СПГ вырастет в три раза

Компания ExxonMobil работает на рынке сжиженного природного газа более 40 лет. В сотрудничестве с нашими глобальными партнерами мы продолжаем проводить исследования и разработки, чтобы сделать сжиженный природный газ доступным во всем мире.

Природный газ Статья

XTO

В 2010 году компания ExxonMobil приобрела XTO Energy, став таким образом лидером по добыче природного газа с самым большим объемом подтвержденных запасов в США.

Природный газ Статья

В рамках проекта СПГ в Папуа-Новой Гвинее открывается крупный учебный центр

Esso Highlands Limited, дочерняя компания Exxon Mobil Corporation и оператор Проекта СПГ в Папуа-Новой Гвинее, недавно открыла Учебный центр строительных профессий в Порт-Морсби.

Природный газ Статья

Программы утилизации отходов

Мы стремимся улучшить состояние каждой территории, на которой работаем.

Природный газ Статья

Планы расширения терминала Golden Pass могут создать до 45 000 рабочих мест в стране

Предложенный проект, терминал Golden Pass СПГ в Сабин-Пасс, штат Техас, позволит импортировать и экспортировать природный газ и приносить миллиарды долларов для экономического роста.

Природный газ Статья

Продолжается расширение портфолио глобальных операций по сжижению природного газа

Компания ExxonMobil возглавила отрасль по интеграции сжиженного природного газа (СПГ) и развитию технологий. По мере того, как наши предприятия в Катаре и Папуа-Новой Гвинее развиваются, нам проще удовлетворять растущие потребности.

Природный газ Статья